? Advancesin Polyolefins XI



Prof. Grubbs Robert H. Grubbs
Victor and Elizabeth Atkins Professor of Chemistry

California Institute of Technology

2005 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Link to website

THE MCGRATH MEMORIAL LECTURESHIP: In honor of the many contributions of Prof. James E. McGrath, including the creation of the "Advances in Polyolefins" workshop series in 1997, APO 2017 is introducing a lectureship in his honor. Prof. McGrath was the University Distinguished Professor and Ethyl Corp. Professor of Chemistry at Virginia Tech. He wrote more than 400 articles and was a co-inventor of 40 patents. Prof. McGrath was the recipient of awards in recognition of his scientific contributions, including the Overberger International Prize for Excellence in Polymer Research, the ACS Award in Applied Polymer Science, and the Paul J. Flory Polymer Education Award, and was a member in the National Academy of Engineering.


Bob Grubbs, California Institute of Technology
Robert Waymouth, Stanford University
Richard A. Register, Princeton University
Nikos Hadjichristidis, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, SAUDI ARABIA
Frank Bates, University of Minnesota
Glenn Fredrickson, University of California at Santa Barbara
Stefan Mecking, University of Konstanz, GERMANY
Clark Landis, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Jo?o B. P. Soares, University of Alberta CANADA
Robert Brüll, Fraunhofer LBF, GERMANY
Susanna Scott, University of California at Santa Barbara
Roger Kuhlman, Univation Technologies
Christian Hilty, Texas A&M
David Parrillo, Dow Chemical Company
Donald Baird, Virginia Tech
Larry Sita, University of Maryland
Tobin Marks, Northwestern University
Julia Kornfield, California Institute of Technology,
T.C. Mike Chung, The Pennsylvania State University
Steve Diefenbach, Albemarle Corporation
Gurmeet Singh, Indian Oil Corporation Ltd, INDIA
Adam Veige, University of Florida
Kazuo Takaoki , Sumitomo Chemical
Markus Klapper, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, GERMANY
Vasileios Touloupidis, Borealis, Linz, AUSTRIA
Maxence Valla, Lanxess, THE NETHERLANDS
Christian Paulik, Johannes Kepler University, AUSTRIA
Timothy F. L. McKenna, CNRS C2P2/LCPP, FRANCE
Jeff Brennan, ExxonMobil Corporation
Fumihiko Shimizu, Mitsubishi Chemical Corporation
Jill Martin, Dow Chemical Company
Rufina Alamo, Florida State University
Josef Jancar, Brno University
John Severn, DSM
Eric Baer, Case Western University
Antonio Vittoria, Federico II University of Naples


Dr. Pal Arjunan CEO/President
Eureka-GlobChem Consultants
Houston, TX 77044
Phone: 832-643-0692
Email: arjunan.pal@gmail.com
Dr. Jerzy Klosin, Fellow
The Dow Chemical Company
Midland, MI 48674
Phone: 989-636-7435
Email: jklosin@dow.com
Prof. Kenneth B. Wagener
The George Bergen Butler Professor  Department of Chemistry, University of Florida
Gainesville, FL 32611
Email: wagener@chem.ufl.edu
Prof. Geoffrey W. Coates
Tisch University Professor
Dept of Chemistry & Chemical Biology
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
Phone: 607-255-5447
Email: gc39@cornell.edu


The last “Advances in Polyolefins X” Workshop (APO 2015) was held in September 2015, with more than 100 in attendance. This Advances in Polyolefins 2017 (APO 2017), covering the entire Polyolefins area, will be the 11th in this series held biennially. Topics will include the recent advances and emerging discoveries in polyolefin synthesis, characterization, processes, mechanical behavior, morphology, blends, stabilization, and global market trends. All invited speakers are worldwide experts in their areas from both industries and academia.


Dr. Raj Krishnasamy/Braskem Americas – Chair
Prof. Bob Waymoth/ Stanford Univ.
Dr. Pat Brant/ExxonMobil Chemical
Dr. Steve Diefenbach/ Albemarle Corporation
Prof T.C (Mike) Chung – Penn State Univ.
Prof. Joao Soares, Univ of Alberta, Canada
Prof. Minaru Terano, JAIST, Japan
Dr. Rick King/ BASF